Skip to main content


Posted: Thu 09 May 2013
Author: TUFC
Alan Knill Permanent Manager H
Image by: Pinnacle

Alan’s List

UNITED manager Alan Knill has completed the first major task of his tenure as the permanent boss at Plainmoor.

The retained list has now been decided, with seven Gulls released, seven set to be offered a new contract and 11 already tied down to deals for next season.

The players released start with right-back duo Joe Oastler and Daniel Leadbitter. Saul Halpin, Karl Baker, Craig Easton and Lloyd Macklin have also departed, while Danny Stevens ends his six-year spell with the club. Loan defender Angus MacDonald will not be pursued as a permanent signing for next year.

Torquay United would like to thank all those players for their efforts at Plainmoor and we wish them every success in the future.

The seven players that have either been offered a new deal or will do in the near future begins with centre-backs Aaron Downes and Brian Saah. Rene Howe has had a deal on the table for some time, and others offered the chance to stay include Ashley Yeoman, Ryan Jarvis, Martin Rice and Tom Cruise. Knill is also planning to hold talks with loan striker Elliot Benyon, who is out of contract at Southend.

Every other Gull has at least one more year with the club, apart from Ian Morris, who signed a six-month extension earlier this year. The boss also confirmed an approach has been made for Chris Brass to join his coaching staff but there is no decision as yet on assistant manager Shaun Taylor.

‘’It is difficult at this time of the season because you build a relationship with people but football evolves quickly, and you have to move quickly,’’ said Alan.

‘’We have to make decisions on people’s careers and I was fortunate to have nine weeks to look at them. While I was working with the players, I was looking at getting them to play well enough to keep us in the league. It has been difficult but also beneficial to have had nine weeks working with them.

‘’I have asked Chris Brass to join us and we’re currently trying to sort something, while no decision has been made with regard to Shaun Taylor.’’

Joe Oastler
Daniel Leadbitter
Lloyd Macklin
Saul Halpin
Craig Easton
Danny Stevens
Karl Baker
Angus MacDonald [not being pursued]

Aaron Downes
Brian Saah
Ryan Jarvis
Rene Howe
Martin Rice
Thomas Cruise
Ashley Yeoman
Elliot Benyon [to be pursued]

Michael Poke
Kevin Nicholson
Damon Lathrope
Lee Mansell
Ian Morris
Billy Bodin
Nathan Craig
Niall Thompson
Kirtys MacKenzie
Daniel Sullivan
Jake Hutchings